I don’t have a mantra that I tell myself to help get me through the hard and bad ‘diabetes’ days in my life. I do however love music which is my tonic. Music cheers me up when I’m feeling down.
I’m a bit of a strange one when it comes to music and different types and genres. Music never fails to make me smile and relax despite what’s happening. When my blood glucose levels are playing up and all over the place it reminds me of the music ‘Flight of the Bumblebee’. Despite how utterly rubbish I feel that piece of music always has a way of making me smile comparing my BG levels to it !?!?! Told you I was strange.
I like older songs , with depth and meaning in lyrics. On a hard diabetic day I’ll listen to Get Over It and Take it to The Limit by The Eagles whom I love! I somehow connect to the lyrics. A more modern song I listen too is the Christina Aguilera song ‘Fighter’ as these lyrics literally make me feel stronger to get through the day.
Finally after a famous Pink Floyd song ( another group I love listening too) a dear friend once said the words ‘Kate shine on you crazy diabetic’. I’ve never forgotten those words so that’s what I do no matter how hard it gets I continue to shine on!

