Take away my insulin supply and basically I’m a dead woman walking/writing….so does that make me artificially alive? Without it I wouldn’t be here would I. I googled the question ‘how long can a person with diabetes ( male or female the gender isn’t an issue for once! ) stay alive without insulin?’ A matter of a few days depending on the body and it’s capability to burn fat which leads to the production of ketones. The blood becomes acidic and once reaches a dangerous level it’s time to phone the funeral directors. I shudder at the thought and it makes me appreciate my insulin, my pump and injections. Reading the answers makes everything more real or surreal whatever way you choose to think about it. My insulin is my kryptonite.
Why would I think of this? Well it does creep into my mind from time to time. It’s a real enough thought to have. I mean what if I suddenly crawled out of a plane wreckage and found myself on a ‘Lost’ Island ? Would I be grateful to have survived .. Yes I would until I realise I only have one spare insulin vial with me and then think hang on where’s my bag gone…Or what if I was kidnapped or held in a hostage situation at for example the Nakatomi building. What if a character off the film ‘Crank’ took my insulin pump away to fuel his adrenaline need ! Series and films such as Lost, 24 and Die Hard make me wonder about this. Also I wonder where the Diabetic character is ? Guess the writer presumed the actor/actress wouldn’t want a short part! I do recall the part in Patriot Games where Harrison Fords wife is performing a vitrectomy operation on a patient so guess that patient character was diabetic and had diabetic retinopathy although this was never stated but it was a short part…
In and out when I was using multiple daily injections I accidentally left my insulin at home but was lucky enough to be able to return for it. I’ve even showered and left the house and not reconnected my insulin pump due to rushing and while walking to the bus stop I realise oh my god Kate your pump!! Fast sprint back home! Yippee ki-yay indeed! (That happened once but only once! so far anyway….) There have been occasions where my pump cannula has become blocked or kinked and within seconds there is no insulin delivery. That’s a horror film moment I know!
After 33 years of Diabetes I can guarantee every time I go somewhere with my mum she still checks I have my insulin with me! This will never change as she cares loves and worries about me and I’m secretly gratefully annoyed with a smile that she never fails to ask. I don’t admit that much so if your reading this mum please ignore the last sentence 🙂
So everyday of my life I make sure my insulin is with me and I always have spares. There are spares in my handbag and in fridges at family members houses, basically anywhere I can leave a spare I do. Be prepared for any event and if by some exceptional bad luck a kidnapping or hostage situation occurs hopefully Spielberg will sort the ending. Or maybe Superman, Indiana Jones, Flash Gordon, Jack Bauer or some such hero will save the day! Or if I was locked in a panic room then I hope Jodie Foster is locked in with me! But out of preference I would prefer Kiefer Sutherland with events In real time…

