It has been said that ‘A sister is a little bit of childhood that can never be lost’ . This is very true however the word ‘childhood’ can also be replaced with the word ‘life’ as for my sister and I together memories forever blossom.
I have a little sister, by little I mean ‘younger’ because in actual fact she out grew me in height a long long time ago. So that makes me the short older one mmmm I’m not sure I quite take to that description but c’est la vie! Sam was born a year after I was diagnosed with Type1 Diabetes. So in reality despite the fact I am the pancreaticly challenged one she too has like me grown up with diabetes dominating the household. She has endured a lot from me over the years not necessarily due to my diabetes just due to the fact I was the older one so despite only four and a bit years age difference I always knew better because I was always right (obviously).
I guess on occasions I took things too far (not always when I was having a hypo either!) for example once when we were younger we watched the film Arachnophobia together. I decided it would be a fun idea to go grab a handful of sultanas from the kitchen and hurl them at my sister whilst screaming “ahhh spiders!!”. Her reaction resulted in her knees empounding her nose and her nose decided to bleed. I was sent to my room. I wasn’t being cruel I was simply teaching her not to be afraid of flying spiders….I’d engineered some fruitful pranks but engineering a nose bleed ? Only my little sister could come up with that!
Diabetes never invaded our relationship if anything it made us closer it brought us together. Despite all my pranks over the years we care deeply about each other. We grew up together with my diabetes. It is part of me part of her and part of the family. She’s witnessed me happy, sad, hypo and hyper. She’s seen me quiet and quite mad. She taught my daughter to burp the alphabet. A favour I’ve yet to return…..
I made my sister Auntie Sam and she made me Auntie Kate a few years later ok maybe ‘crazy’ Auntie Kate but there’s always one isn’t there. A few months ago my niece was drinking a lot of fluids and some uncertainty over took us all as to wether I would be sharing the diabetes after all these years. I am the only one in my family that has Type 1 diabetes it’s only ever been me. I didn’t want to share it not because I’m selfish but because I wouldn’t want anyone so close to me to have to determine every aspect of their daily life because of their diabetes. I was able to talk it through with my sister and help try to calm her worries even if the worst happened they both had me who was tip top educated in the art of diabetes. Been there done it, doing it, got the T-shirt. My niece was taken to the GP for a test and thankfully her blood glucose levels were perfect as perfect as she is herself. The relief was outstanding. We both have many stories from our years together as sisters to share with our children as a united family. Yes diabetes is part of some of these stories but it’s not the only ingredient.
Really the only downside to our sisterhood is the fact that we can’t lend each other’s shoes ( she’s the taller one so work out why for yourself) bags clothes etc there’s no problem. We’ve gained a sisterly joint taste of Stilton on baguettes, white wine and vodka with diet coke. She has climbed through a window while I was having a hypo, turned up at the hospital after an operation I had undergone and ensured my sliding scale was promptly put up. She’s been there for me and me her. A sisters love is unconditional except if I’m having a hypo I get the jelly babies no arguing!
The song ‘Sisters’ sums us up with the lyrics ‘All kinds of weather, we stick together, the same in the rain or sun. Two different faces, but in tight places we think and act as one’.

20140710-183024-66624888.jpg

